1 Comment

The Day English Died

maybi we can all go out anotha tym

Kwl where u going we both of that nite

Kwlx

Yh me to lol

Im k bbes,doin betta den wen saw ya last,was guna pop

out 4 1 dwn maidens later,if ur about holla b nice catch u

can’t blieve how much I’ve changed I use to be such a wrongan.

I fink I’m finally growing up :d

Huh?

If you’re like me, you spend a large portion of your communication time online.  I don’t claim to be an English professor, possess perfect spelling and grammar, or write better than others.  I do, however, actually show the reader some respect in conveying a clear message.  The above examples are all too common these days, and running across some of the worst language breakdowns like above just makes me think English is dead.

This doesn’t mean that communication styles should not fluctuate.  There are certain people I interact with where it is common to use abbreviations, colloquialisms, and slang, but it is not the entire form of our communication.  Everything we write, as well as the way we write it, is a reflection of who we are as people, professionals, and individuals.  If I looked back five years from now and found the above examples to be mine, I would be horrified.  How do you write, and what does it say about you?

One comment on “The Day English Died

  1. I just said that a couple of days ago!!!

Leave a Reply

