1 Comment

Stuffed and Twice-Baked Potatoes: A weekly timesaver

I love baked potatoes.  Sadly, they are not something you can prepare quickly.  I came up with this weekly routine that is not only delicious, but a huge timesaver during the week.  Usually on a Sunday I will roast the potatoes, stuff them, and wrap for use during the week for lunches or a quick lunch for the inevitable company dropping by unannounced. 
 

Roasting potatoes

 
I coat the potatoes with olive oil, salt, pepper, garlic powder, and parsley.  They roast in the oven at 350 degrees for about 1.5 hours (the more potatoes, the more oven time).
 

Cut and scoop

When they come out, I cut an oval shape out of the top and scoop out the inside.  I keep the top next to the potato on my assembly line so it is easy to determine which top goes with which potato.

Assembly line

As long as this is done, there is no guesswork or ill-fitting shapes to be put together later.

Stuffing

I mash the potato filling with butter, salt, pepper, parsley, bacon bits, cheese, and green onion.  I stuff the mixture back into the potatoes and layer a little cheese on top.  They go back in the oven sans tops for about 20 minutes, enough time to melt the butter and cheese.

More assembly line

 
I keep the tops on a separate pan that are in the same order as the potatoes in the oven.  When they come out, the tops are easily found to match the potatoes.

 

Cheese please!

 

Tops going on

 
The tops go back on the finished potatoes and cool for 20 minutes.

 

Wrap and roll!

With the tops replaced, each potato is wrapped in foil and tossed in the fridge.  Whenever you want a potato, either microwave it for 2 minutes (foil removed) or toss it in the oven for 15 minutes at 350 degrees.  These often never last the full week, as they are great for snacks, lunch, dinner sides, or even a quick meal when unexpected guests show up.  Just keep in mind that if you add dairy products like milk, butter, sour cream, etc. that the potatoes should not be kept beyond five days.

One comment on “Stuffed and Twice-Baked Potatoes: A weekly timesaver

  1. Thanks for the recipe and process … My husband loves baked stuffed potatoes, but I never make them because of the time. I will have to give this a shot!

Leave a comment