Leave a comment

Meatloaf with potatoes and carrots ~ one bag dinner

I love meat.  Sure, I could probably become a vegetarian and do without it, but why?  Meat is good!  The turkey-eating people are gone, so I snuck in some red meat I bought at the store.  Don’t get me wrong, I like turkey too.  But cooking with turkey instead of beef on a regular basis gets old, and I get sick of the taste.  No matter what you mix with it, turkey is just, well, turkey.

Almost everything I cook is as healthy as I can get it, and this ground meat was the leanest in the store at 93/7.  You can substitute the beef for any other meat.

1 pound lean ground beef
1 egg
1/3 cup milk
1 tablespoon minced garlic
1 teaspoon minced basil
1 teaspoon minced parsley
1 onion, diced (I used half red onion, half yellow onion)
1 celery stalk, diced
1 teaspoon cracked black pepper
1/4 cup balsamic vinaigrette dressing
1 cup breadcrumbs
2 cups diced potatoes (I use either russet or red potatoes)
1 small bag of baby carrots
1 oven cooking bag

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

Mix everything but the meat, breadcrumbs, potatoes, and carrots. 

Once blended, work in the meat.  This can be done by hand or with a large fork.  Work in breadcrumbs.  Shape meat into a loaf (I use a loaf pan for an easier way to shape).  Spray a cooking bag on one side with cooking spray.  Place loaf in the center on the greased side in cooking bag.

In a large ziplock bag, toss potatoes and carrots with 1 tablespoon of oil and whatever seasonings you like (I use basil, parsley, garlic, and pepper)

Place potatoes and vegetables in the bag around the meatloaf.  Seal bag and pierce four small holes in the top.  Bake for 1 hour; meat will be thoroughly cooked, and potatoes and vegetables will be soft. 

This is a good recipe to alternate ingredients with, since just about any vegetable would cook well with the meat.  If you like spicy food, add in 1 tablespoon of red pepper flakes, a teaspoon of cayenne pepper, one diced jalapeno, or all three.

Leave a Reply

