Leave a comment

Photograph 10: I say potato, you say potahto…

A few things come to mind when I think about potatoes.  Images of french fries, mashed potatoes, baked potatoes, hash browns, and cheesy scalloped potatoes dance through my mind.  There are so many things you can make with potatoes that are really good!  I use potatoes in my cooking quite a bit, and started to get curious of where the potato came from.

Seems there is quite the “hot potato” debate as to the origin.  Through my search, I found an article that was in USA Today that states Peru and Chile have long debated over claims to the original potato crop (www.usatoday.com/news/world/2008-05-27-peru-chile-potato_N.htm, 2008).  The article details the claims each country has made, but asserts the potato origin in Chile dating back 14,000 years according to a researcher in Valdivia, Peru.  Despite the data given, Peru continues to argue that Chile’s potatoes would not be harvested had it not been for them.

As long as I can still buy and cook them, I don’t care where they came from.

Leave a Reply

